Ateneo Art Awards 2019

Tuesday, 06 Aug 2019, 9 AM to Sunday, 27 Oct 2019, 5 PM

Fredesvinda Almeda Consunji Gallery, Ambeth R Ocampo Gallery, Elizabeth Gokongwei Gallery, Alicia P Lorenzo Gallery, and Jose Mari Chan Lobby, Soledad V Pangilinan Arts Wing, Areté

Admission is free of charge

The Ateneo Art Awards 2019 exhibit continues at the second floor lobby and third floor galleries of Ateneo Art Gallery. See up close the works of the twelve shortlisted artists for the Fernando Zobél Prizes for Visual Art:

  • Zean Cabangis - Somewhere, Anywhere (Artinformal Makati)
  • Lesley-Anne Cao - The hand, the secretary, a landscape, (Cultural Center of the Philippines)
  • Keb Cerda - Super Nardo: False Profits (Untitled, Art, San Francisco, USA)
  • Ronyel Compra - Lutâ: Imprint of Lola Masyang’s House in Forest for the Trees (Fundacion Sansó)
  • Doktor KarayomIsla Inip in 2018 Thirteen Artists Awards (Cultural Center of the Philippines)
  • JC Jacinto - A Crack in Everything (Artinformal Makati)
  • Lilianna ManahanFrame in The Garden of Earthly Delights (Aphro, The Alley at Karrivin)
  • Krista Nogueras - Lake Predicament (Artinformal Makati)
  • Archie OclosLupang Hinirang in 2018 Thirteen Artists Awards(Cultural Center of the Philippines)
  • Henrielle Baltazar PagkaliwanganTimestamps (Finale Art File)
  • Jel Suarez - object reader (MO_Space)
  • Costantino Zicarelli - Years of Dust Will Build A Mountain (Artinformal Makati)

The Ateneo Art Awards – Fernando Zóbel Prizes for Visual Art was first established in 2004 in honor of visual artist and AAG’s first benefactor, Fernando Zóbel (1924-1984). This award recognizes young and upcoming Filipino visual artists under the age of 36 whose works were exhibited within a one-year period, between May 2, 2018 – May 1, 2019.

Selected by a jury, only 3 winners will be chosen who will be eligible for international artist residency grants funded by Ateneo Art Gallery and its partner institutions: La Trobe University in Bendigo, Australia, Artesan Gallery + Studio in Singapore, and Liverpool Hope University in Liverpool, United Kingdom.

Aside from the 3 winners, one (1) artist from the 12 shortlisted will be the recipient of the Ateneo Art Awards- Embassy of Italy Purchase Prize. Started in 2018, the said award is a partnership between AAG and the Embassy of Italy which seeks to help the Embassy compile a collection of Philippine contemporary art while providing a new award incentive to further promote Philippine contemporary artists.

AAG also continues the People’s Choice poll. Visitors are invited to vote for their favorite shortlisted exhibition through the voting tablets placed at the museum front desk. The artist with the highest number of votes by August 18 will be given an AAA People’s Choice certificate. He/she will receive special items from Ateneo Art Awards partner, Times Trading Inc., one of the premier distributors of Artline, Derwent, Lamy and Pebeo.

Meanwhile, the entries of the shortlisted writers for the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes in Art Criticism may be read through the Vital Points website. The four shortlisted writers are:

  • John Alexis Balaguer – Everywhere is Here: The Museum as Heterotopia in Mark Lewis Higgins’ Gold in Our Veins (On Gold in our Veins: Mark Lewis Lim Higgins at the Ayala Museum)
  • Janina Gwen Bautista – “Nasaan ka na, Mara-bini?” Drawing Out Women and Comics Out of the Periphery (On Nasaan Ka Na, Mara-Bini? Francisco V Coching Centennial Exhibition at the Cultural Center of the Philippines)
  • Jeckree Mission – A Confrontation with Gendered Bodies in Southeast Asia (On Gendered Bodies in Southeast Asia at the Metropolitan Museum of Manila)
  • Mariah Reodica – Saltwater Trajectories: Bisan Tubig Di Magbalon, and Viva Excon as Cartographer (On Bisan Tubig Di Magbalon (Don’t Even Bring Water) at Viva Excon Capiz 2018)

Two (2) winners will be chosen for the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes in Art Criticism who will each contribute to The Philippine Star and ArtAsiaPacific Magazine. The winner for the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prize – The Philippine Star will be awarded a regular column under “Platforms” in the Arts and Culture section of the newspaper, while the recipient of the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prize – ArtAsiaPacific Magazine will contribute to the bi-monthly publication for one year. The new shortlisted entries will also be added to the Vital Points: Essays from the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes in Art Criticism, a blog site dedicated for all shortlisted essays of Ateneo Art Awards.

Apart from the said publications, the 2 winners will also contribute to Perro Berde, an annual publication of the Embassy of Spain and Instituto Cervantes, which provides Filipino and Spanish artists, writers, and cultural researchers a venue for interaction and cultural dialogue. The contributed essays are published in English or Filipino and translated in Spanish.

The Ateneo Art Awards – Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes in Art Criticism was established in 2014 to encourage art writers and to get art criticism into the public sphere. This award honors art writer and Art Association of the Philippines founder, Purita Kalaw-Ledesma.

The Ateneo Art Awards 2019 exhibit runs from 6 August to 27 October 2019. Awarding of winners is on August 18, Sunday, 4PM at the Suthira B Zalamea lobby in Areté.

The Ateneo Art Awards is co-presented by Ateneo Art Gallery, Shangri-la Plaza and Kalaw-Ledesma Foundation Inc.; in partnership with Areté, The Philippine Star, ArtAsiaPacific Magazine, Artesan Gallery + Studio, La Trobe University, Liverpool Hope University, Metro Society, the Embassy of Italy, the Embassy of Spain in the Philippines, and with support from Artline, Pebeo, Lamy, Derwent and Rain or Shine.

Schedule a Tour